2019 Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2019 award winners!

The following individuals and companies were honored at the 2019 Recogition Evening:

stan-jorgenson-sri.jpgSkill-Responsibility-Integrity (SRI) Award - Stan Jorgenson

Stanley M. (Stan) Jorgenson is a construction professional with more than four decades of industry experience.  As a teenager, Stan worked at his uncle’s general contracting company and dreamed of one day having his own company.  Following high school graduation, he enrolled in a carpenter apprenticeship program and began working his way up through the ranks.  In 1983, at the age of 28, Stan and his wife, Bonnie, founded Jorgenson Construction.  His strong work ethic, honesty, attention to detail, vision, and passion have helped make Jorgenson Construction a trusted construction partner to schools, corporations, cities, and healthcare organizations.  Stan’s dedication to giving back to the construction industry and his community can be witnessed through donations to scholarship programs and education foundations, as well as programs that assist children in abusive homes and teenagers with substance abuse issues. 

tom-becken-lifetime.jpgLifetime Achievement Award - Tom Becken

H.T. “Tom” Becken joined the family business in 1957, the third generation to be actively involved in Cemstone Companies.  Originally working with his father, Thorwarld, Tom now works alongside his sons, Thor and Tim, and his brother, Steve.  Rising from one horse-drawn wagon delivering hand dug sand on St. Paul’s east side, to being one of the largest independently owned ready-mix companies in the country, Cemstone now operates across the Midwest.  The company’s unmistakable blue trucks have been visible at many important building and highway projects over the years.  To mark the company’s 90th anniversary, Governor Mark Dayton proclaimed October 28, 2017 “Cemstone Products Company Day.”   Tom has spent his career dedicated to the betterment of the industry through products, processes, and people

Click here for a list of former SRI and  Lifetime Achievement award winners.
Jeff Jensen Memorial Construction Safety Excellence Awards

This AGC safety award began in 2003 as a tribute to Jeff Jensen, former owner of J.R. Jensen Construction Company (Superior, WI), and a strong advocate for field safety training, having served on the Duluth Safety Day committee for several years. The award is determined by the number of hours invested annually on safety training for each craft, supervisor/manager and subcontractor employee, as well as the company’s experience modification rate, total recordable incident rate, number of lost workday cases, and number of medical only cases. Recipients for 2018:

Category I (0 – 149,999 man hours) – J.R. Jensen Construction Company
Category II (150,000 – 299,999 man hours) – Meyer Contracting, Inc.
Category III (300,000 and above man hours) – Parsons Electric

CHASE (Construction Health and Safety Excellence) Partnership Recognition Awards

Now in its 16th year, the CHASE Program (the longest running partnership with Minnesota OSHA) recognizes companies that implement comprehensive safety and health programs and training. Recognized this year for their current participation:

Adolfson & Peterson Construction | Belair Sitework Services | Benike Construction | Bituminous Roadways, Inc. | LS Black Constructors, Inc. | Carl Bolander and Sons Company | The Boldt Company | Danny’s Construction Company, LLC | Donlar Construction | ECSI, Inc. | Egan Company | Harris Companies | Hunt Electric Corporation | JE Dunn Construction Company | Kelleher Construction, Inc. | Kraus-Anderson Construction Company | Kraemer North America | Lakehead Constructors, Inc. | Lametti & Sons, Inc. | The Mathiowetz Construction Company | C.S. McCrossan, Inc. | M.G. McGrath, Inc., Glass & Glazing | M.G. McGrath, Inc., Surfaces | Meyer Contracting, Inc. | Minger Construction Company | Minnesota Paving & Materials | Mortenson Construction | Northland Concrete & Masonry Co., LLC | Park Construction Co. |  Parsons Electric | PCL Construction Services, Inc. |  Q3 Contracting, Inc. |  Rachel Contracting, Inc. | Ramsey Companies, Inc. | Rice Lake Construction Group | RJM Construction, LLC |  Ryan Companies US, Inc. | Sellin Brothers, Inc. | Shaw-Lundquist Associates, Inc. | Sowles Co./Northwest Tower Cranes | Veit | Vic’s Crane & Heavy Haul, Inc. | Weis Builders, Inc.

AGC/MnDOT Bridge Awards (2018 completion)

These annual awards recognize and showcase craftsmanship, technical skills, innovation, and dedication to quality in the bridge construction market. Each nominee is field reviewed and evaluated by a panel of MnDOT and industry representatives.

S&R Reinforcing, Inc. (Aitkin)
Low Cost Structure (less than $1.5 M) | Located in Lutsen Ski Resort

Lunda Construction Company (Black River Falls, WI/Rosemount, MN)
Medium Cost Structure (between $1.5 and $5 M) | Over Elk River/Lake Orono, near Elk River

Kraemer North America, LLC (Burnsville)
High Cost Structure (over $5 M) | Smith Avenue High Bridge over the Mississippi River in St. Paul 

AGC/MnDOT Grading and Base Awards

Award recipients are recognized in categories covering both state and 
locally funded projects. Awards take into consideration 
workmanship, performance and technical competencies.

C.S. McCrossan, Inc. (Maple Grove)
State Reclamation | Trunk Highway 47

Veit (Rogers)
State Grading | Trunk Highway 210

MnDOT Work Zone Safety Awards were presented to 
OMG Midwest Inc. dba Southern Minnesota Construction, Safety Signs, and 
Shafer Contracting Co., Inc.

Supervisory Training Program (STP) 2018/19 Graduates

Designed by AGC of America and intended for field staff, this six-unit construction specific training curriculum is developed, updated and field tested by and for contractors. It is taught at the AGC of Minnesota office using local instructors. The following Minnesota personnel completed the training during the 2018/19 program year. In order of graduation: 

Justin Coleman, Carl Bolander and Sons Company
Jamie Lansing, PCL Construction Services, Inc. 
Mike Schmidt, Lunda Construction Company
Brent Stanton, Carl Bolander & Sons Company
Ron Haugland, Langer Construction
Robbie Koopmeiners, Rachel Contracing, Inc. 
Nate Plohasz, RJM Construction LLC
Jarad Schuller, RJM Construction LLC
Nick Wiberg, Lunda Construction Company
Tony Byron, Adolfson & Peterson Construction
Patrick Weber, Langer Construction 
John Tomczak, Lunda Construction Company
Chad Heggestad, Veit
Chase Brown, Shaw-Lundquist Associates, Inc.
Scott Sonnek, James Steele Construction Company
Andrew Norum, Carl Bolander and Sons Company
Travis Strozyk, Morcon Construction

Leadership Blueprint 2018/19

Developed in 2014 by AGC of Minnesota and intended primarily for emerging leaders in AGC member companies, this six-month program leads participants through the principals of effective public speaking, remembering names, increasing listening skills, leading better meetings, and more. The 2018/19 program graduates are:

Jake Bartscher, Cemstone Companies
Nichole Dentinger, B & D Associates, Inc.
Mike Flahave, Veit
Nathan Flogel, Kraemer North America, LLC
Jarad Frach, Egan Company
Patrick Gartner, Marcy Construction Company
Jordan Heller, McNamara Contracting, Inc.
Michael Kocina, Bituminous Roadways, Inc.
Robbie Koopmeiners, Rachel Contracting, Inc.
Kendra Kron, InSite Contracting, Inc. 
Tyler Lenzer, Knutson Construction/Rochester
Alexis Miller, Advanced Masonry Restoration, Inc.
Andrew Moriarity, Opus Design Build, LLC
Peter Schneider, Graham Construction Services, Inc.
Trevor Thompson, Kraus-Anderson Construction Company
Daniel Vogt, Shaw-Lundquist Associates, Inc.
Brianna Weinand, McGough Construction
Jacob Wetzel, McNamara Contracting, Inc.