2020 Awards

Congratulations to the 2020 Award Recipients!

The following individuals and companies were honored during our virtual 2020 Awards Recognition Week (November 17-20):


Mark Ryan was born and raised in Burnsville, MN, and began his career in the construction industry at age 14, running an excavator for his older brothers' construction company. He worked with his brothers during the summers through college at Winona State, and although he majored in Business, the construction industry stuck with him. In 1985, he joined Frattalone Excavating and Grading as a field worker, and started Ryan Snowplowing with the Larson brothers. He quickly moved into the office at Frattalone, first as a dispatcher, then an estimator, and eventually President.  In 1995, he co-founded Frattalone Paving, along with Frank Frattalone and others. In 2000, Mark accepted the position of President at Ulland Brothers, which involved commuting from Mahtomedi to Duluth, and living part time on a boat on Lake Superior.  Mark received a call to interview for the position of President at Carl Bolander & Sons in 2001, and took the opportunity to be part of a St. Paul company that had been in business since 1924. The company thrived under his leadership, and in 2005, when Dave and Dorothy Bolander retired, Mark and his business partner Rick O'Gara purchased Carl Bolander & Sons and its subsidiary, SKB Environmental.  Mark has given his life in service to the industry, including participation in the St. Paul Builders Exchange, the National Demolition Association, LECET, the Operating Engineers, the Urban League, and AGC of Minnesota.  An avid skiier and biker, Mark loves the outdoors and traveling to visit his three children and two grandchildren.

Dale Forsberg

Dale Forsberg is a lifelong Minnesotan who earned his degree in Civil Engineering at the University of Minnesota, also studying Social Ecology at Goddard Pollege in Vermont. Upon graduation, he began work with Al Johnson Construction, working on the Armory Lock & Dam in Mississippi.  He returned home to Minnesota and began working with Watson-Forsberg, a general contracting company co-founded by his father. Now with Watson-Forsberg for over 40 years, Dale serves as the company's President.  His lifelong commitment to community involvement has included volunteer roles in Habitat for Humanity, 180 Degrees, Venture North Bike Walk Center, The American Swedish Institute, and service as an AGC of Minnesota board member and STP instructor.  Dale is an avid traveler, and enjoys biking to jobsites on the weekends.  He has biked in almost all 50 states.


This AGC safety award began in 2003 as a tribute to Jeff Jensen, former owner of J.R. Jensen Construction Company (Superior, WI), and a strong advocate for field safety training, having served on the Duluth Safety Day committee for several years. The award is determined by the number of hours invested annually on safety training for each craft, supervisor/manager and subcontractor employee, as well as the company’s experience modification rate, total recordable incident rate, number of lost workday cases, and number of medical only cases. Recipients for 2019:

Category I (0 – 149,999 work hours) – Atlas Foundation
Category II (150,000 – 299,999 work hours) – Park Construction Co.
Category III (300,000 and above work hours) – Rachel Contracting, Inc.


Now in its 17th year, the CHASE Program (the longest running partnership with Minnesota OSHA) recognizes companies that implement comprehensive safety and health programs and training. Recognized this year for their current participation:

Adolfson & Peterson Construction | Belair Sitework Services | Benike Construction | Bituminous Roadways, Inc. | The Boldt Company | Carl Bolander and Sons Company | Danny’s Construction Company, LLC |
Donlar Construction | ECSI, Inc. | Egan Company | Frattalone Companies, Inc. | Hunt Electric Corporation | JE Dunn Construction North Central | Kelleher Construction, Inc. | Kraus-Anderson Construction Company | Kraemer North America | Lakehead Constructors, Inc. | Lametti & Sons, Inc. | LS Black Constructors, Inc.  | The Mathiowetz Construction Company | C.S. McCrossan, Inc. | McNamara Contracting, Inc/Midwest Concrete Specialties | M.G. McGrath, Inc., Glass & Glazing | M.G. McGrath, Inc., Surfaces |
Meyer Contracting, Inc. | Minger Construction Company | Minnesota Paving & Materials | Mortenson Construction | Northland Concrete & Masonry Co., LLC | Park Construction Co. |  Parsons Electric |
PCL Construction Services, Inc. |  Q3 Contracting, Inc. |  Rachel Contracting, Inc. | Ramsey Companies, Inc. | Rice Lake Construction Group | RJM Construction, LLC |  Ryan Companies US, Inc. | Sellin Brothers, Inc. | Shaw-Lundquist Associates, Inc. | Sowles Co./Northwest Tower Cranes | Veit | Vic’s Crane & Heavy Haul, Inc. | Weis Builders, Inc.


These annual awards recognize and showcase craftsmanship, technical skills, innovation, and dedication to quality in the bridge construction market. Each nominee is field reviewed and evaluated by a panel of MnDOT and industry representatives.

ICON Constructors LLC (Mabel, MN) 
Low Cost Structure (less than $1.5 M) | Heron Rd. over the South Branch of the Root River in Carrolton Township

Eureka Construction and Redstone Construction, LLC (Lakeville, MN/Mora, MN) 
Medium Cost Structure (between $1.5 and $5 M) | Fallon Ave. over Interstate 94 in Monticello

Ames Construction (Burnsville)
High Cost Structure (over $5 M) | Bridge over the Mississippi River in Winona  


Designed by AGC of America and intended for field staff, this six-unit construction specific training curriculum is developed, updated and field tested by and for contractors. It is taught at the AGC of Minnesota office using local instructors. The following Minnesota personnel completed the training during the 2019/20 program year.  In order of graduation:

Jonathan Porter, Veit & Company, Inc.
Luke Swanson, McGough Construction
Brian Geisbauer, McGough Construction
Derek Ashe, Frana Companies Inc.
Andrew Barrett, Wayne J. Griffin Electric, Inc.
James Pearson, McGough Construction
Tegan Lenneman, Veit & Company, Inc.
Doug Gjerstad, Watson-Forsberg


Developed in 2014 by AGC of Minnesota and intended primarily for emerging leaders in AGC member companies, this six-month program leads participants through the principals of effective public speaking, remembering names, increasing listening skills, leading better meetings, and more. The 2019/20 program graduates are:

Christopher Amundson, Adolfson & Peterson Construction
Anne Archibald, Advanced Masonry Restoration
Joe Biezuns, Cemstone Companies
Jason Bihn, Shaw-Lundquist Associates, Inc.
Dan Bokinskie, Martin Marietta
Garrett Collins, Rachel Contracting, Inc.
Matt Ducette, Ziegler CAT
Joanne Fay, PCiRoads, LLC
Tanya Griffin, Molin Concrete Products Company
Cody Grobe, Knutson Construction/Rochester
Scott Kent, Park Construction Co.
Dan Lorentz, Valley Paving, Inc.
Chase Lunke, Bituminous Roadways
Tony Muchow, Veit & Company, Inc.
Zack O’Grady, LS Black Constructors
Jack Peterson, Bituminous Roadways
Sara Ryan, McGough Construction
Kristi Sachs, KE Marsh Construction
Travis Sutherland, Stevens Construction Corp.
Alex Titterud, Kraus-Anderson Construction Company
Ben Wagner, M.G. McGrath, Inc.